Rachel King

Sometimes those “eternal moments” in life happen when you least expect them to happen and come from a person that you least expect them to come from. Several of those moments happened for me when I was an undergraduate at a small Christian liberal arts college that no longer exists. Yes, a college that no longer exists but that had a profound effect on my life and probably on the lives of many others who walked its beautiful campus a few miles outside Providence, Rhode Island. But this piece is not about the place it is about a person who taught there, Rachel King.

Dr. King was in her early-eighties when I met her. She had spent years teaching at a well-known New England prep school, was a Yale graduate from long ago who had retired to Providence years before. However, when she retired she somehow found the little college on the road to Newport and offered to teach for one silver dollar a year. Dr. King taught one course each semester in the department of Biblical Studies. She was a sight amidst the undegraduates. She was a very old woman to us. She wore those old lady dresses and walked with a slow and studied pace around the campus and occasionaly I would see her in the snack bar sipping a cup of tea. Her eyesight must have been very poor since she had glasses that magnified her eyes several times over and she always carried a cloth bookbag with a longish handle.
sc003f4377.jpg rachel-king-3.jpg

I first spoke with Dr. King during the spring semester of 1976, my sophomore year. I enrolled in her Comparative Religions class which met in a classroom in what used to be one of the stables on the estate that was once our campus. The first day of class she took care of the important things. One of her first questions to this group of nineteen and twenty year olds was to ask us how we preferred to be addressed. At first many of us did not understand what she meant. Addressed? Was she asking us for the post office box number of our campus address? No, she told us that she preferred “Dr. King.” Would we like her to address us by our first name or with our title of “Mr” and “Miss” followed by our last name. Well, for a group of people whose entire experience with the prefix prior to their last name was with their parents and grandparents we quickly opted to be addressed by our first names.

It was a fascinating semester. Each class not only opened our minds to the religions of the world but we were transported back in time to a syle of teaching and by a person who had come out of the best of what can only be described as the “old school.” When we studied the Bhagavad Gita she would recite entire sections of this ancient script from memory. Throughout the semester she would pepper the class with recitations from Homer and other giants of the past, again, all from memory. Quickly this became my favorite class of the semester. Often, following class my classmates and I would talk about it as though we had traveled to some far off place to study and our guide for that journey had taken us there merely with her words. It was truly a semester abroad.

Once I mustered the courage, I remember engaging Dr. King in conversations following class and would occasionaly walk with her to the snack bar. By the end of the semester she and I had developed a nice rapport and just before finals she presented me with a gift, one of the books that she had written and it was inscribed to me. You can imagine, I was awed that she would give me this gift. I still have the book and occasionly leaf through it and remember that semester and Dr. King.

I remember a conversation that she and I had several years following my graduation. I had stayed on at the College working as a recruiter for this little school I loved. Times were tough for colleges without large endowments and without showcase facilities and my alma mater was about to merge with a sister institution. We were to sell our campus that year and move ninety miles north to a strange campus. I ran into Dr. King one day during those last few months as she walked slowly down a grand stairwell that overlooked a beautiful lounge area in the old manor house that stood at the center of the campus. I stopped to talk with her for a moment.

I told her how saddened I was by the fact that my alma mater would not longer be and how difficult it would be to leave behind the people and experiences of the place. She looked at me through her thick glasses and pointed out the rich carpet below us in the lounge, a carpet whose design mirrored the design of the intricate plaster molding on the vaulted ceiling above the lounge. She said, “Do you see that carpet? All the experiences, conversations, relationships and eternal moments that you and many others have experienced here are not lost. They will just be rolled up in a carpet similar to that one and unrolled someday so that they might again be enjoyed.” That moment was a great moment of encouragement to me and it has served to be one of those moments that I call eternal in my life. Thank you, Dr. King.

14 responses to “Rachel King

  1. Thank you for your tribute to Dr. King. I read it to my wife. There are a couple of older “saints” in our life currently (both ladies in their 80’s). Both still very much alive and involved in ministry much like you described your teacher. It is precious to know and be “befriended” by those old enough to be our grandparents. I am sure you were as much a delight to her as she was to you.

  2. Cool! I wish that more people would grasp the resource we have in tose who walk the road before us instead of trying to reinvent the wheel with every generation, great reminder!

  3. Larry Knowles

    Strange thing, Tom, that I never had a class with Dr. King like you did. The best I got was to drive her home one evening after some college session.

    Having spent 24 years in a retirement community among “seasoned saints” of Psalm 92:12ff., I can appreciate your reflections. None of these folks had the intellectual fire power of Dr. King, but the depths and richness of their souls from walking long with God was palpable. Not just lifestyle and temperament-wise, but in those moments when pithy jewels of wisdom would pop out (i.e. “Delays are not denials”, “God doesn’t want you to do anything for Him”, or one time when, leading a nursing home church service in my patronizing, perfunctory way, I saw the gnarled hands of an old saint who no longer remembered even her own name rise folded in worship when the strains of “Holy, Holy, Holy” began from the piano. The hair on my neck rose at that one).

    What’s sobering is that we’re now closer to that age bracket than to our days with Dr. King! Thanks…

  4. About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

  5. Thanks for sharing this about Dr. King. I have had a few people in my life that were very similar and this has encouraged me to begin writing about them!

  6. Peter Fox Manning

    I dont know whether to use the word “fortunate” or say that God places people in our our path ,along the journey ,that have a profound and everlasting influence on our development. I do recall one of my teachers, Norman Tennant introducing me to the delights and adventures of mountain climbing, French literature , food and wine. I would not say that he was a spiritual person, but i could feel the spirit of life in him and that life could be better if one aspired. Being in his company was just a blast, the way he spoke with his posh correct tones.

  7. I took that same class with Dr. King, but several years later, in 1984. I remember her question about how we wanted to be addressed, now that you mention it. I also remember her asking us one day, close to the end of the term, how many of us were seniors, Most were. She referred back to her question and how she’d told us she preferred Dr. King. Then she told us, “But when you receive your baccalaureate degrees, you may call me Rachel.” I saw her a few times when I visited friends on campus in 1985, but never took Dr. King up on her offer! She was a special lady and one of my favorite profs.

  8. Tom a.k.a. Dumbsheep

    Thanks, Joel, for that wonderful addition to this remembrance. It was an honor to call her Dr. King. Indeed calling her Rachel would have felt wrong.

  9. I, too, took this class with Dr. King and found it enlightening and enlarging. I was a PK from Worcester, MA so I had not ventured far into the world, physically or intellectually. Dr. King’s class gave me a perspective unlike any other. The literature, although lofty, was not intimidating under the tutelage of Dr. King. She was the perfect guide. I consider it an honor to have studied under her. Thanks for the article, Tom.

  10. Steve MIilton,
    I was Dr King’s personnel driver to and from Barrington 3x a week during 73-76 from her residence at the Regency and latter at the Biltmore Hotel in Providence . She enjoyed my convertable Volkswagon Karmen Gia even once with with the top down .We talked at length each trip somtimes after the ride over tea and won ton soup .
    She was always sharing beautiful parts of her personality,her deep thoughts far beyond biblical studies,her passion for learning,and her love of writing each day and 5or 6 books she published in her life. .She once had me take 4 full sized shopping bags filled with books from the library. When asked why so many books her reply was” to see how my students were using their references.”
    Rachel Hadley King was the only women in her PHD program at Yale during the late thirties.Able to stand her own. I truly admire Dr. King and hold her always in high esteem,and close to my heart A.Great thinker,keen wit,happy with her her chosen path with few regrets.
    Glad to see your blog

  11. Dr. Jim Hedstrom

    I had just recommended Dr. Rachel Hadley King today to a group of evangelicals committed to staying in the PCUSA, when so many of our conservative congregations are leaving, and find on severl sites online the tributes to Dr. King that confirm me in my belief that she was something special, and still needs to talk to us, which she can surely still do through her several books. Can a lady be a competent theologian? You bet your life on it.
    Dr. King was one of the first theologians of her gender to grace my library, and she will be one of the last to leave it.

    Dr. Jim Hedstrom
    Ridgetop, Tennessee

  12. I was never acquainted with this lovely gifted lady but I have the same sense of appreciation for other faculty and staff at this same college who made a profound impact on my life with their faith in JESUS CHRIST.

  13. What a wonderful tribute Tom.
    Some remembrances of Rachel King from Jean and David Cossey, colleagues . Rachel indeed was a very special person. We sort of adopted her and took her out to dinner several times. We were walking in the Warwick Mall with her one evening…and she was sort of skipping along. She made the comment…” I Always feel devilish when I am with David and Jean.” I certainly don’t know why! She had never been to the circus…so we took her to see the Barnum and Bailey Circus at the Providence Civic. She was like a little kid. Another comment from Rachel….”When I was young, I was never interested in the young men, now that I am old, I am interested in them.” I remember her coming into the Snack Bar and ordering a cup of hot water. She would sit down and would then pull out a tea bag from her purse…probably used from the day before! Rachel was
    ” old school” and tough ! She told us about one of her students who was a senior. The person had an A in the course going into the final, which meant the student did not have to take the final. However, Rachel told the student that they would have to take it because they had missed more than half of the classes. Rachel tells us that this student finished the final in record time and wanted to leave. Rachel made them stay for the first full hour of the two hour allotted time. Then Rachel, who had very poor eyesight, when on to say that this student had the audacity to use a very light lead pencil and she had a hard time reading the students answers!! (Yes, I know who the student was ). We kept in touch with Rachel after leaving Barrington and would stop in to visit her when we were in the area. The last time we heard from her was when she sent her “last” Christmas letter…because her eyesight was failing. She gave us a gift of a beautiful porcelain pitcher which we still have and cherish. She was a dear and precious saint!

  14. It’s so lovely to read these memoirs. Miss King was my teacher senior year at Northfield School, as it was then; the course was “Masterpieces of religious literature” — everything from Plato’s “Symposium” (really) to “The Screwtape Letters”. Infant remember much of her teaching — this was 55 years ago — but I remember a lot about the books. So often Miss King had a twinkle in her eye, which some of you have alluded to…I think she loved being with younger people, especially bright ones. At the time she spent her Christmas and Easter vacations at a hotel in NYC, and summers with her mother in a retirement community in California; I visited her there once in the early 60’s. She had an interesting combination of shyness, acuteness, and wisdom. She was one of a whole bunch of unforgettable teachers who enriched my emotional and intellectual life at Northfield.

Leave a comment